Ukrainians exempted from short-stay visa requirement

6 July 2017

As of June 11, 2017, Ukrainians no longer need a visa to travel to the EU member States as well as Schengen associated countries if they hold a biometric passport. They are allowed to visit this area for a maximum period of 90 days within a 180-day period. Visits longer than 90 days and visits to the United Kingdom and Ireland still require a permit.

The exemption does not authorize Ukrainians to work in the aforementioned areas, but only to temporarily reside there. In order to work in these areas, a work permit is normally required.

Back to overview